Transcript released of Lichfield MP’s call to PM declining Cabinet post

Posted on

  

Lichfield and Burntwood MP Michael Fabricant made it abundantly clear to Prime Minister David Cameron that he did not want to be considered for a government job.

The full transcript of the telephone conversation has now been released. 

MF to No.10 Switchboard operator 

MF: Hi, could you put me through to Dave immediately please

SO: Dave who?

MF: The PM you foolish girl

SO: Who’s calling

MF: Mike Fabricant

SO: I’m sorry…

MF: It is I, Sir Michael Fabricant 

SO: No, I mean I’m sorry I’ve instructions not to take any calls from Michael Fabricant 

MF: (aside to Andy) The PM must be on the line to Obama. 

Well one of his senior officials then my dear.

SO: I’m sorry…

MF: I said, can you put me through to one of the PM’s senior officials.

SO: No, I mean I’m sorry, I’ve instructions not to put Michael Fabricant through to anyone at all.

MF: Well, please get Mr Cameron to call me back when he’s finished with The President.

SO: No

MF: It’s imperative that I get a message to him before he finalises his new cabinet. Could you please impress upon him, in no uncertain terms, that it is, with the deepest regret, that I have to decline the generous offer of a senior cabinet post.

Click, burr…….

MF: (smiling in Andy’s direction) Yes that’s correct, “with the deepest regret”.

MF: (to self) She deserves a punch to the throat that one.

Leave a Reply

